top of page

High Times

by Kurt Epps--The PubScout August 4, 2021





Like most folks, I don't mind paying a little more for a quality beer. Also like most folks, I don't mind some reasonable security checks at airports.


And I know New York City and environs are pricey.



But two reports have recently come to light which may have me avoiding NYC airports entirely for the foreseeable future.


The first is that "management" at some airports are suggesting that I arrive THREE hours before my flight to allow enough time to get through security.


That's absurd. As it is, two hours is a pain in the butt. Literally.

So I'm not "down" with the new suggestion.


But the other report that puts airports--at least LaGuardia--in my dust bin of history is this one: $27.85 for a Sam Adams Summer Ale.



Hey, I like Sam Adams beers, have met and hoisted brews with owner Jim Koch (above) and can say that when it comes to the various beer styles, Sam's is 99.9% dead on. Consistency matters--to me, anyway.


But ain't no single Sam Adams--or any other-- airport beer worth $27.85. Hell, that's crazy for even three beers.


Now, those in charge say the print out was a "glitch," and that the price should have been ONLY $18.15.



Oh.

Still ain't happening.


And if you'd pay $15 for a Michelob Ultra Light, you've either got money to burn or Covid, and you can't taste anyway.


$28.75.

Almost makes you long for the days when you could rent an overpriced Bud Light at Yankee Stadium or Citifield.




Cheers!

The PubScout--immersed in the craft beer scene since 1996

As always, feel free to share!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page