top of page

It Just Takes One, Apparently


Heads up, loyal readers!

Yesterday I posted one of the most innocuous columns I've ever penned. It was a very flattering piece about a local food place in my town, and I not only praised it, but lauded its staff.

I shared it on Facebook (as I always do) and shared it with the business's Facebook page. The owner was ecstatic and couldn't thank me enough in private messages.

But apparently someone who read the piece decided to report it to Facebook because it "violated Facebook's Community Standards." If you're familiar with Facebook and some of the things that come across your newsfeed, those standards must be pretty low.

Upon contacting Facebook, I was told that my story violated the SPAM subsection of their Community Standards, which is bizarre, as my column is free, and I receive no remuneration for the posts I make here.

Nor has anyone who has read the story been able to find ANYTHING that might be offensive.

With ONE possible exception. In the story posted yesterday entitled "Of Books and Covers" I did include this humorous comment:

"And she didn't say, "Bless your heart" once to us. (In case you didn't know, that's Southern for something akin to "You're a sphincter.")"

Could some strait-laced southerner have taken umbrage at that line, lapsed into high dudgeon and reported the story to Facebook? Possibly. But that's so tame compared to some of the things that appear on Facebook, it's hardly likely.

Might the story have angered a competing business, or one that had a personal grudge against Dawg House Grill Too? I suppose that's possible, as well.

Might it have been someone on Facebook who resents me, my faithful followers and/or my success? Perhaps, but then why target this particular post for Facebook Jail, when there have been countless others in the many years I've been doing this?

Who knows? But I do know this.

Whoever did it is a shmuck...Bless their heart...

Cheers!

The PubScout--immersed in the craft beer scene since 1996

As always, feel free to share (Just not on Facebook!)

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page