top of page

This "Club" is No Joke


Back before political correctness sank its pernicious roots into the American psyche, there used to be an old joke about a lottery from a certain Eastern European Country. If you played this country's million dollar lottery and won, you won a dollar a year for a million years.

Somehow, that not to-be-named country's nationals morphed into "blondes" and blonde jokes, and, though I never understood the rationale, presumably it's OK to make fun of blondes whenever you want, So the joke is now "Did you hear about the blonde golfer who broke his leg? He slipped and fell off the ball washer."

Call me crazy, but I always thought blonde jokes were unfair to blondes, and I happen to to know many blondes who absolutely do NOT get locked inside their cars with their families. And many who don't tiptoe past the medicine cabinet so as not to wake the sleeping pills. But what do blondes and a dollar a year have to do with beer?

Two names. First The American Fish Company in Southport, NC. This very neat "private" club, situated right on the water (below, left) between The Frying Pan and The Provisions Company and blessed with balmy breezes, doesn't sell fish. Or any food for that matter. But they do sell beer, and they sell some really good ones--to members only.

What does it take to become a member of this exclusive club? Your driver's license, and a dollar. A year. For a million years. (JK)

That's all it takes to be able to avail yourself--and four guests__ of the "amenities" at The American Fish Company. There is entertainment offered regularly. On the afternoon of my visit, a bluegrass ensemble was bringing back memories of Deliverance, banjoes and Ned Beatty screaming like a pig.

But it's an absolutely great place to hang out, as close to the water as you can get without actually being in it. Shady, and, as I said, wafted with cool breezes, it's a very neat place to grab a beer in Southport.

And that leads us to the second name. If you can get Sarah (above) to serve it to you, it's worth WAY more than a dollar. This mother of two and teacher in the Southport Elementary School is at once engaging, beautiful, friendly--and blonde. A transplant from Manhattan, she's both articulate and intelligent. A gal who easily destroys the mold of the the hapless blonde, she's totally dedicated to her two beautiful children and her husband, who actually had a hand in getting both Provision Companies in Southport and Holden Beach up and running.

I joined this "exclusive" club two months ago, but today was the first chance I had to actually take advantage of my membership. I motored over on two wheels (on a gorgeous day) and I'm very glad I did. I do wish my new club would give me WiFi access so I could promote it without using my own data, but it is what it is.

Until that time, I'll have to be content to enjoy the beers, all in bottles or cans, or maybe sample that Bourbon Spiked Peach Sangria and listen to some music while being caressed by balmy breezes. And There's PBR for Jersey Paul Zavodny.

Hopefully, I'll be chatting up Sarah again who works Sundays, at least until school starts.

And if you happen to catch a sunset at The American Fish Company, you might just have hit the lottery. The cost? Just a buck.

Cheers!

The PubScout--since 1996!

As always, feel free to share!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page