top of page

NC vs. NJ (and SC)


Let's begin with one of my pet peeves, which is what vs. (or v.) means.

It's an abbreviation for "versus," which is a Latin term that means "against." It is not a verb, as I've heard supposedly educated people ask, "Who are we 'versing' in the game today?"

That said, let's see how NC fares versus NJ and SC when it comes to a most critical part of life--and I'm not talking about guns or taxes, where NC and SC both kick NJ's butt. I'm talking about their various approaches to beer.

Take, for example, a weekly event that occurs in (of all places) the Lowes Foods store, which is a mere stone's throw from my humble cottage. There is a full bar--called The Beer Den-- right in the store where you can sit down and enjoy some quality craft beer--and even carry it around the store if you want while you shop for, you know, like actual groceries. NC-1, NJ-0.

But it gets even better. Turns out that every Thursday, all the beers and wines are half-price. And not just for an hour or two, but all day. NC beats SC there because SC only allows happy hours from 4-8 PM, as my new beer-gal Meghan (below, L.) informed me. She and Brandie (below, R.) were busy tending to the thirsts of a host of folks, some of whom come regularly from a distance to take advantage of the deal. NC wins again.

On my family's first visit (which I did not attend due to the NCAA Wrestling Tournament on TV--hey, beer is good, but second to the NCAA Wrestling Championships), five of them sat down to enjoy wine and beer. And the TOTAL tab came to $13. Score another victory for NC, at Lowes Foods Field, anyway.

Last night, the missus and I popped in for our first "official" visit. She had a Chardonnay and I had a full twelve Oz. of 12.2% Founders KBS stout. Tab? $6. Can't beat that with a stick. They sell growlers and grunts, too.

And they even give out free bar munchies to everyone, hoping perhaps, that you'll enjoy them and buy a container or two to take home.

The place was pretty full, mostly with geezers my age, but everyone was friendly. And one lady and her husband got a little too friendly and were cut off.

Politely, NC style, though. "You've probably had enough, honey..bless your heart."

So it appears Thursday trips to Lowes Foods may become a somewhat regular occurrence, especially since we can walk there in nice weather, which is probably another win for NC over NJ for much of the year.

And it would allow me to have more than one Founders KBS. Because I still need to get back home.

Cheers!

The PubScout--since 1996

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page