top of page

You're Welcome!


I know, I know. I just did a story on Flounder Brewing's Five-year Anniversary. And I make no apologies for doing another Flounder-related piece. Good beer, after all, is good beer. And when I can get it, along with free appetizers, I go. I also know that "free" doesn't always mean "good." But it sure did last night.

It was billed as a way to say "Thank you" to their loyal customers. The Landing at Hillsborough would team up with Flounder Brewing and throw a pre-Christmas "Thank You" party. The pub would feature Flounder's Beers and offer free pass-around appetizers from Tony Papoutsis' kitchen.

And, as so often happens when Flounder and The Landing team up, the cozy little downstairs pub gets packed. My sons and I found three empty barstools upon arriving, so we commandeered them, but after fifteen minutes, not only was the bar filled, but so were the hightops and the tables.

Ordering from the ten or so Flounder beers on tap, in addition to wines and mixed drinks, the clientele was in a friendly, festive mood, engendered in part by an outstanding jazz duo playing holiday songs anyone could recognize.

And at 7 PM, the appy parade started. These were not your standard frozen "pigs in a blanket," either. They were a wide variety of carefully crafted delights to satisfy any palate, including those who eschew meat. I do not eschew meat; I chew it, hence I enjoyed at least four Pulled Pork Sliders. The speed with which they disappeared as they came down both sides of the bar was an indicator that not too many were vegans, at least where we sat.

Flounder's Genevieve was my partner for the evening, along with the excellent company of Kacy, Cody, Maria and Kevin. As always, I cornered Flounder's Founder, Jeremy Lees and his lovely wife Melissa to chat about beers, new releases and the pending expansion of his brewery. In fact, we discussed the process and possibility of getting his beers down into North Carolina, which will serve as the PubScout's new base in a few months. I'll keep you posted on that score.

The Pub is both a neat place and a smooth-running operation, and its popularity is due to those aspects, as well as Tony Papoutsis' culinary work and Maddie's (L.) managerial skills. Come to think of it, I doubt I've ever been at The Landing when Flounder Lees and crew were not there, but the marriage of the pub and the brewer seems to be flourishing. Flounder's beers fly out of there, the food is great and the ambience is welcoming. That's a winning recipe that brings in customers. And rewarding those customers once a year (especially around Christmastide) is an excellent way to show your appreciation for their patronage, not to mention guaranteeing their continued support.

When someone says, "Thank you," as The Landing did last night, manners dictate that you respond with the title of this article.

Except in this case, a return "Thank YOU!" would also be apropos.

Cheers!

The PubScout Since 1996!

As always, feel free to share the story and steal the pictures...Merry Christmas!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page