top of page

When Your Beer Goes South


As The PubScout looks to pull up stakes and head for warmer climes in his "golden" years, the South beckons ever more strongly. Taxes are lower, motorcycle riding season is longer, home prices are lower--and craft beer is booming. Don't discount that last criterion, either. Because when The PubScout finally "pulls the trigger," the availability of good beer is a powerful magnet. Having recently returned from a three-week exploratory journey, these were just some of the pleasant surprises I found, in addition to having become familiar with many NC beers on previous visits.

As a sidenote, I tried to "boost" that last post on FaceBook, and even though I was going to pay them money to do it, they wouldn't allow it because there was a picture (above) of a half-naked wooden mermaid figurehead hanging from the ceiling, and it "violated" their vaunted standards for content. Who knows? There may be some sick puppies whose prurient interests are aroused by such things, but nobody normal, for sure. I mean, it's a freakin' mermaid made of wood--and it's hanging from the ceiling. But at least I saved money.

I was also duly impressed by a specific beer venue in Wilmington, NC (see above) which I celebrated here. If you ever get to Wilmington, this place is a must visit.

But, to the point of this article. My former student Mike Sweeney, ever on the alert for quality suds in his native Texas, sent his old teacher this link. Talk about a Siren's Song beckoning me to southern climes.... I've had a number of these brews already, and have come away quite impressed.

It's sure nice to know that I'll have lots more to seek out and sample when the move happens. And because the taxes aren't Jersey High, I may actually have more to spend on beer.

Cheers, y'all!

The PubScout

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page