top of page

Serendipitous Sunday at Porters' Pub


It's always a pleasure to visit Larry Porter's famous pub in Easton, which I make a point to do a few times a year. Perfect ambience, great beer list, exceptional waitstaff and food fit for the gods are the reasons. Not to mention that it has a PAP Seal. But yesterday would mark a special visit because of a serendipitous meeting outside the pub.

We had parked our iron steeds across the street and had begun our walk to the famous watering hole, when I saw a car emblazoned with the logo of Devil's Backbone Brewing negotiating a parking spot. I approached the driver, and knowing the beer and really only kidding, I asked the driver if he had samples.

To my surprise and the surprise of my PBBC biker buddies, amiable Oran Tansey opened the door, and with a big smile said, "I sure do!" Whereupon he, his friend Vinnie and a beautiful gal named Alicia (all at the top of this page) went to the back of the car, lifted the hatch and started digging through a cooler of ice-cold beers. He handed Maria and Natalie each a can of DB's outstanding Cran-Gose, gave Lou a classic Vienna Lager and handed yours truly a bottle of Susquehanna Brewing's Shady Spot--which won a Gold medal at the World Beer Cup.

Then he compounded his generous act by giving us each a special DB coozie that snaps on to any bottle--or wrist (see pic below). The event was chronicled by, Popeye, my personal press secretary and papparazzi.

We were, of course, tempted to slake our thirsts right then and there on busy Northampton St., but we took our booty--and booties--inside where gorgeous server Sam made sure the bottles were kept cold behind the bar while we enjoyed the victual and libations offered by Porters' Pub.

Natalie, a saison gal, ordered a Saucony Creek X Series Peach and Ginger Saison, while Lou, Maria and I opted for Short's Brew Humalumalicious IPA and Saucony Creek's Stonefly Anniversary IPA., which were exceptionally good.

Ditto my usual choice of food--the incredible Apple Turkey Cheddar Melt (below), and on Sam's recommendation, it was modified to include bacon this time. Which is how it will be ordered in the future, thanks to Sam.

She also suggested, and my tablemates insisted, that I get this super-duper healthy salad that had so many good things in it, I can't recall them all. I confess, it was absolutely delicious, and far, far healthier than the kettle chips I wanted.

We enjoyed a marvelous afternoon, and thanked our newfound friends who dined alongside us with a round, because one good turn deserves another. Oran is not only a good guy, he's a smart cookie, because my mates became fans of Devil's Backbone.

As always, check out the new pics added to the gallery, which may not have been included in the story.

Cheers!

The PubScout

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page