top of page

A Model Senate

Hailey's Harp and Pub's distinguished Beer Senate had its first meeting since its annual summer hiatus. Presumably, all the Senators went back to their constituents over the break to learn what beer issues their voters felt were critical to their happiness. Or maybe they just went down the shore. Either way, they came back in full vigor.

And yours truly confirmed two salient facts during the meeting of this august body. First, this is how all Senates should function. Second, I am decidedly not a fan of sour beers.

But first things first. The agenda, as set by Barman Moshe, is always a winner: good food coupled with good beers. And the atmosphere is always convivial, unlike in that other Senate run by the government. Actually, "convivial" is the polite way of saying raucous, friendly and, most importantly, fun. Then there's the all-important vote taken at the end to decide which beer gets to shoulder its way onto Hailey's official taps, and this year, Octoberfish from Flying Fish got the nod. It wasn't my first choice, but it was well deserved. The other contenders were Boulevard's Pumpkin Sour, Neshaminy Creek's Punkler Dunkelweiss (which actually had more pumpkin notes than Boulevard's, if you ask me) and Great Lakes Lake Erie Monster DIPA. That latter was my choice.

But, of course, beer is a most subjective item. You like what you like, and no one should tell you what your choice should be, even if it's a canoe beer. That's why I took two sips of the sour beer and gave it away. I know sours are de rigueur these days, but to me me they're just, well, too sour and unenjoyable. I must not be alone, because the Sour didn't score any votes, and I know at least one famous local brewer who says, "If my beer comes out sour, I pour it down the drain." While they certainly have their devotees, I have yet to find one that can elicit even a "that's not bad" from me.

Moshe's food, as always, was worth the price of admission, and I was not alone in telling him he needs to put that fabulous Veal Schnitzel on Hailey's regular menu.

As with most beer events, the speakers became less important than the drinkers' conversations as the night wore one, so Moshe had his work cut out for him as he tried to explain why he was appointing Curtis as the host for next month's legislative session. Curtis will be using his own favorite beers in the lineup, which is a great way to spark interest and engage the Senate faithful. The real Senate should work this way, with everyone "trinken, essen und lachen." Then voting.

Here's hoping Curtis is not a big sour beer guy.

Or my "trinken und lachen" will be severely subdued.

Cheers!

The PubScout

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page